Ludwig wins German Touring Car Championship

  • Date
    11 October 1992
  • Description
    With a third-place finish in the season finale at the Hockenheimring, Klaus Ludwig wins the German Touring Car Championship (DTM) in an AMG-Mercedes 190 E 2.5-16 Evo II. AMG-Mercedes drivers Kurt Thiim and Bernd Schneider finish second and third respectively in the final rankings, giving Mercedes-Benz the brand title.
Touring Car Grand Prix on the Nürburgring, September 20, 1992. DTM racing drivers, from left to right: Bernd Schneider, Klaus Ludwig, Kurt Thiim.
DTM racing drivers, 1992
24-hour race on the Nürburgring (North Loop), June 18, 1992. Klaus Ludwig (start number 3) with an AMG Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.5-16 Evolution II racing touring car in the 1992 version.
24-hour race on the Nürburgring, 1992
German Touring Car Championship (DTM), October 11, 1992:
Klaus Ludwig, winner of the DTM 1992, on AMG Mercedes 190 E 2.5-16 Evolution II. Kurt Thiim and Bernd Schneider, both also on AMG Mercedes, occupy second and third place.
(DTM driver from left: Jacques Laffite, Jörg van Ommen, Bernd Schneider, Klaus Ludwig, Kurt Thiim, Roland Asch, Ellen Lohr and Keke Rosberg).
AMG-Mercedes 190 E 2.5-16 Evolution II
German Touring Car Championship, Racing Festival on the Hockenheim Motodrome, 24th May 1992. Klaus Ludwig in the AMG Mercedes 190 E 2.5-16 Evolution II (car number 3). In 1992 AMG and Mercedes-Benz dominate the DTM scene. 16 out of 24 races are finished in first place. At the Hockenheimring Ellen Lohr is the first and so far only female to clinch a DTM victory.
Racing Festival, Hockenheim Motodrome, 1992
German Touring Car Championship, Diepholz Airfield Race, 16th August 1992. Round 2 again sees Klaus Ludwig at the top of the podium, ex Formula 1 World Champion Keke Rosberg is the runner-up (left), his brand colleague Kurt Thiim finishes third.
Diepholz airfield race, 1992